Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

For better or for worse

womble
Posted 02/02/2010 - 13:38 Link
This has been discussed a bit before, but as I contemplate scanning some of my slide collection I have been thinking about this again.

In my film days (and I still use film alongside digital) each photograph cost money. At current prices that is about 25p per slide. As a result, I was quite careful about how many pictures I took and what of. For a month travelling in Europe (when I was a student) I used to splash out and buy 10 rolls of Kodachrome, i.e., 360 photographs. I felt I was being quite extravagant. I got to know the foibles of the ME Super light meter for the sort of subjects I photographed. For every box of slides I got back, I would have no more than one or two slides where the exposure was off or the focus wasn't right. The downside is that I wasn't very adventurous. The photographs are, in the main, competant record shots of buildings, monuments and landscapes ideal for lectures and slide shows of my trips, but not "beautiful" in an artistic sense, and few I'd want printed and framed.