Do people really pay £250 for a K1000 & 50mm f/2

Benz3ne

Link Posted 28/01/2020 - 10:45
womble wrote:
Despite my addiction to K-series things, I've never wanted a K1000. Give me a KM, KX or K2 any day. Now, seeing the prices, I'm glad I still don't want one...

Funnily enough, I have got to the stage where there aren't really any 35mm Pentax bodies I especially want. I'd love to get my Pentax K functional again, and sometimes I wonder about trying an MZ-S, but other than that I have an embarrassment of riches. The LX and MX see most use, the ES and ESII see good use, the Spottie, the K2DMD... There are some bodies I've never used such as the MV-1. (I went through a phase of getting all the M-series bodies.) I've even got an Auto 110...

The one Pentax film camera I would love to try is a 67 (or 6x7, or 67II). There is a US company which rents them, so I'm thinking of hiring a set-up next time I am over there.

Cheers, Kris.

Pretty sure I saw a K-2 on eBay for around £75 body only earlier today. Not sure how that stacks up against average prices though!

womble

Link Posted 28/01/2020 - 11:32
Jonathan-Mac wrote:
I'm with you on the 6x7/67. There's a place over her in Madrid that rents a package - body and three lenses - for €28 a day, which doesn't sound too bad to me. The only problem would be finding a day on which I could spend the entire time out with that monster and make good use of it.

The US company rents for a week at a time so I was thinking of getting one for my annual US road trip from Columbus, Ohio to Somewheresville USA, I think it is Iowa this year. Kodak Professional have been posting warnings that US airports are installing CT scanners for hold baggage which severely fogs film, and not just the fast stuff... I usually order my film from B&H and get it delivered to my friend in Columbus. I might have to get it developed over there too next time.
Kris Lockyear