Do I switch to another brand?

DBlandford

Link Posted 16/09/2019 - 17:31
I have been shooting on Pentax cameras for over 30 years and currently have a K50 and K70 in my camera bag. I am seriously thinking about upgrading to a K1 mark 2 but I cannot help wondering if it would be a better choice to switch to another brand. There is no reason to switch apart from the lack of choice with regards to lenses especially for third party lenses. There seems to me to be no development or new products in the Pentax range and I am concerned what the future holds for Pentax users. I would be interested in what everybody thinks.

pschlute

Link Posted 16/09/2019 - 18:15
1. Buy a K1
2. Use all your old lenses
3. Take advantage of the excellent modern Pentax zooms....15-30 24-70 70-200 150-450 28-105
4. sell your kidney and get the best 50mm lens on the market DFA 50mm 1.4

5. Remind me again why you were thinking of leaving ?
Peter

My Flickr page

Helpful

JAK

Link Posted 16/09/2019 - 18:25
DBlandford wrote:
There is no reason to switch apart from the lack of choice with regards to lenses especially for third party lenses. There seems to me to be no development or new products in the Pentax range and I am concerned what the future holds for Pentax users.

What lenses are perceived to be unavailable?
That list of Pentax zooms for the FF K-1 Peter suggested have al been released in the last three years! No development, really? On top of that you've got the whole back catalogue available to track down if you wish.
John K
Last Edited by JAK on 16/09/2019 - 18:27

RobL

Link Posted 16/09/2019 - 18:37