'decent' extention tubes

MartynUK

Link Posted 19/05/2011 - 17:27
Is there anyone that produces good quality extention tubes for Pentax ? I got one set off eb which I would not trust on my lens!
Martyn

http://www.flickr.com/photos/northamptonshirecouk/

eenymac

Link Posted 19/05/2011 - 18:22
Been looking around too but quality sets seem rare as hens teeth.

matwhittington

Link Posted 19/05/2011 - 19:27
Certainly Pentax tubes seem to be very expensive. Are you looking for tubes which are wholly manual or are you looking for some with contacts to enable the auto-metering, and even aperture control. The latter seem to be very expensive. I have a single manual pentax helicoid extension tube which I picked up in a second hand shop which is good quality. I have also seen SRB-Griturn tubes (link) recommended on the forum in the past as well but I have no experience of them myself...
Mat W

My Flickr: link

MartynUK

Link Posted 19/05/2011 - 19:54
matwhittington wrote:
I have also seen SRB-Griturn tubes (link) recommended on the forum in the past as well but I have no experience of them myself...

They look the best quality I've seeen Mat... but as you say, very expensive! Will sleep on it!!

Martyn
Martyn

http://www.flickr.com/photos/northamptonshirecouk/

Frogherder

Link Posted 19/05/2011 - 19:56
SRS have told me that Kenko do a set, but they're out of stock at present.

Clifton Cameras - Ditto

Per the link for Griturn - not heard of them but it might be worth a trip down to Dunstable to try them out before purchase. Interesting that the price for the Pentax fit is exactly the same as the Kenko set

Bernard

bretbysteve

Link Posted 20/05/2011 - 09:43