Visit Asahi Photo Visit Asahi Photo Visit Asahi Photo

Capturing dark skin

beebee
Posted 08/12/2010 - 20:14 Link
I am new to portraiture and need a bit of advice - I have two dark skinned teenagers coming for a photoshot Saturday. They are not the most patient of individuals and they want to be photographed with a black background - 1/2 body and head shots. Their skin is nearer to caramel (best I can do to describe). Any advice gratefully received. I have some reflectors and hotshoe flash (not keen on front flash). The shoot will take place in a room with plenty of natural lighting. Help please!
Everything is possible - just not today.
K7, K100d, 18-55mm kit, 50-200mm, Sigma 70-300mm, 50mm f1.4, 16-45mm f4.0, 50-135mm f2.8
johnriley
Posted 08/12/2010 - 20:30 Link
Be careful of reflections and bear in mnind that to retain the correct tonal value you might need to reduce the exposure slightly. I would try -0.5EV using exposure compensation. It will only take a moment to review if that is close enough, and to adjust further as necessary.
Best regards, John
Don
Posted 08/12/2010 - 20:37 Link
Meter carefully. watch for shiny highlights.

better to slightly over expose then pull back in post processing.
here you'll find a couple examples I did recently:
link

the best technique I know of for dark skin, involves polarizing your light source and a polarizer on your lens to have control over highlights, which probably is goin to far for your needs.

if you got lots of natural light, use it and a reflector, and maybe a little (set to manual powered right down low) flash for a catchlight in the eyes...

JR beat me! note : JR is correct for shooting jpegs, I shoot RAW and do post processing in Aperture and Photoshop...
Fired many shots. Didn't kill anything.
Edited by Don: 08/12/2010 - 20:38
beebee
Posted 08/12/2010 - 20:50 Link