Visit MPB Visit MPB Visit MPB

aperture/depth of field on pentax x5

paulmids
Posted 03/03/2013 - 16:27 Link
Hi, I am new to photography and have bought the Pentax X5. I have been reading posts about only having the choice of 2 aperture setting on this camera. From what I have generally read, I thought that portrait mode would select a larger aperture to blur the back ground and landscape mode would have a smaller aperture for everything to be in focus. It seems that on this camera the same aperture is selected whether portait or landscape modes. Does this mean that the only difference in these modes is the colour tone which the manual refers to. I am really struggling to understand this camera. Although it is easy to point and shoot and get a good picture, I am wondering if there really are any manual settings of any use on it. Does anyone know the best settings for portait photography if you want shallow depth of field? Manual mode gives you the same aperture setting as you would get using portait mode and landscape/scenery mode. Confused. Any help of comments would be much appreciated. (in case you are not familiar with the camera, it does not have aperture priority or shutter priority modes)
gartmore
Posted 03/03/2013 - 16:51 Link
I dont have an X5 but from Optios and my Q I have discovered that you are correct in thinking that the landscape mode increases the greens and portrait mode warms skin tones.

The problem is that the sensor is so small and requires very short focal length lenses which inherently give a great depth of field. Exposure is mostly controlled by varying the shutter speed rather than the aperture.

The Q has a BC (blur control) setting which digitally makes areas out of focus. Does the X5 have this?
Ken
“We must avoid however, snapping away, shooting quickly and without thought, overloading ourselves with unnecessary images that clutter our memory and diminish the clarity of the whole.” - Henri Cartier-Bresson -
paulmids