Any good recommended reading for total newbie :)

Weatherwax

Link Posted 15/01/2012 - 20:31
Hi all

Well my camera arrived, I was all rosy cheeked and flushed with excitement at my shiny new acquisition (Pentax k-r) and after firing off a few shots I came to the realisation, I am woefully under equipped with knowledge to make much use of it. It is my first foray into the intimidating world (to me anyway!) of the dSLR but I want to learn, so after searching online I thought I would ask if anyone has any recommended reading, tutorials, or indeed courses/clubs (I am in Leeds, West Yorkshire). I don't even really understand which lens is supposed to do what to be honest so when I said newbie, I mean totally, from scratch. I am currently like a donkey with a machine gun, no idea why I have it and buggered if I know how to use it!

Thanks for any help, tips, suggestions, all will be taken on board

Shel xx

Stuey

Link Posted 15/01/2012 - 20:42
Hi Shel

When I was starting out I found that most of the books about digital photography seemed to be more about how to use a computer than how to use the camera so I picked up a few old photography technique books from the library and second hand book stores - can't remember which ones but enjoyed them more as they were much more about the photo technique - not everything in them matches the dslr exactly but they are still useful.

As dslrs follow the same controls etc it made it easy to follow for me.

Hope this helps

Regards

Stu.
K10D, K5 plus plenty of clueless enthusiasm.

My Flickr site link

Technoblurb

Link Posted 15/01/2012 - 20:49
If your in Leeds you could try dropping fatspider a message. Regarding the books I found the Michael Freeman books are very good link

But the best advice in the short term is to ask no matter how daft you think the question is and have fun.

Graham

stigg

Link Posted 15/01/2012 - 21:04