A lot of macro shots

viper_biker

Link Posted 17/06/2008 - 23:57
I am still relatively new to both DSLR and this site, but I can't help but notice that a lot of 'Your Photo's' are macro shots, or 'still' life. Is that the nature of a Pentax, is it reflective of the type of Pentax owners? I'm not looking to create any bad vibes or pee in anyones pond, it's just an observation. Certainly a lot of the shots (actually, most of them if I'm honest) are better than anything I can take so kudos to you all, I was just maybe hoping to find a few more action/panning shots and maybe ask a few more questions.
K100D Super, Kit 18-55mmF3.5-5.6 AL, Tamron70-300mm F/4-5.6Di, 2005 GSX-R750, 1991 VFR400 NC30 road bike, 1989 VFR400 NC30 track bike

hefty1

Link Posted 18/06/2008 - 00:33
Pentax cameras aren't generally famed for the speed of their operation (although they're not exactly slouches they do lag behind some of the Canons and Nikons - even Sonys and Olympus's - of this world when it comes to things like focussing speed and frame rate), however, they do tend to trump most of the opposition when it comes down to ultimate image quality.

This doesn't mean there aren't people out there taking sports and action shots with Pentax kit (there are and they seem to be doing very well from what I've seen) but Pentax land does mainly seem to pull in folks who are more at home with landscapes, macros, still-lifes, studio work, etc and who are more concerned with getting the highest quality results.

There are plenty of forums and resources on the 'net that are non-brand specific and which deal with different fields of photography. Perhaps you'd find one of them more useful as general techniques don't really vary between the manufacturers and your kit is just as capable as anybody elses (as the photos you yourself have posted previously amply demonstrate ).